John and Bruce implemented the beta of “Save to Google ™ Drive” functionality last night.
How it works:
1) If you have level 4 or 5 permissions, you’ll see a menu item under the “Options” tab in the Individual view that says “Save to Google Drive”.
2) Selecting “Save to Google Drive” will open a new window. Google will prompt you for access to your Google Drive Account. When you do this you’ll get prompted for permission to allow us to do this. Submittable does not store or use this information for any other reason than to allow you to export your documents directly into Google.
3) Once you accept, Google opens the file in the edit mode for text and preview mode for any other format. You can instantly begin editing the documents.
4) You can then share this document with anyone on your staff using Google’s built-in sharing.
After the submission has been exported, the rest of your staff will see an “Open in Google Drive” menu item instead of “Save to Google Drive.” When they click this one of two things will happen:
- If they’re already logged into Google, they will immediately have access to viewing or editing the document (depending on the permissions you gave them).
- If they aren’t logged into Google, they will be prompted to log in before they can access the document.
This feature is the first step in being able to collaboratively edit documents within Submittable. It’s powerful.
We’ll be adding similar features for Dropbox™ users in the near future. We’re very interested if and how people use export and collaborative editing. If you have ideas on how to make it better or criticisms, please let me know or post them to our Feature Suggestions forum.
CEO / co-founder