Publishing & Journalism:

How to direct help to Houston (NPR).

This ‘lyrical manifesto for largehearted living’ from Amiri Baraka is just the thing (Brainpickings).

Witch files: the spell of Keith Mann and Weirde Sister (Fast Company, Electric Lit).

Be productivedaydream, or intensify your reading diet (Real Pants, Bustle, Flavorwire).

An excerpt: ‘Filtered through the life of one gay man, the novel is an expansive look at Ireland in the 1940s’ (Lambda Literary).

Strange and delightful pet portraiture (Artsy).

A conversation with Ann Marie Fleming that touches on animation, identity, Stickgirl, and being asked to drop out of art school (tiff).

Six Hollywood diversity consultants dish (Vox).

The shady rise of Lani Sarem’s YA book on the NYT’s bestsellers list (The Guardian).

Congrats on halfway: a reading list (The Rumpus).

Ear Hustle…fits into a broader legacy of prison-born audio shows’ (The Atlantic).

Some Opportunities:

Luna Station Quarterly publishes speculative fiction written by women.

AWP is accepting letters of nomination for its Small Press Publisher Award and the George Garrett Award for Outstanding Community Service in Literature.

Tiferet seeks up to 200 words that investigate the writer’s relationship with one timely, powerful word: hope.

During its annual reading period, WTAW Press considers full-length books of prose (novels, memoirs, creative nonfiction, collections, etc.).

GoggleWorks Center for the Arts seeks entries for its second annual cup exhibition featuring drinking vessels from all over the country.

Administered by Maine Media Workshops + CollegeThe Arnold Newman Prize awards $20,000 to a photographer whose work demonstrates a compelling new vision in the genre of portraiture.

The Adroit Journal seeks staff applicants.

Proximity Magazine is seeking essays by mother-artists for the Mother Load Anthology.

For its Big Sky, Small Prose Flash ContestCutBank wants fiction and nonfiction prose pieces of 750 words or fewer.

Finishing Line Press and the Brendan Ogg Memorial Fund are curating an anthology of poetry by young adults diagnosed with cancer between the ages of 15 and 39.

Ponder Review seeks fiction, flash fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, short plays, art, and electronic literature for Volume 1, Issue 2.

Visual artists, writers, and composers are invited to apply for Residency #168 through the Atlantic Center for the Arts.

Dzanc Books awards prizes for fiction, short story collections, and as part of the Disquiet Open Borders Prize, honoring a prose manuscript that crosses boundaries and advocates for a diverse, global literary discourse.

The Scripps Howard Foundation offers Communications Internships.

The Robert Watson Literary Prizes for Fiction and Poetry, administered by Greensboro Review, will award $1,000 and publication.

To celebrate its tenth anniversary and mark the twentieth anniversary of Hong Kong’s handover, Cha is hosting an International Poetry Prize in collaboration with PEN Hong Kong.

Palaver seeks creative and academic submissions that defy the confines of a single discipline.

For its Pacuare Reserve in Costa RicaEcology Project International seeks a Manager, as well as a Sales and Marketing Coordinator.

The theme of Textile Society of America’s 16th Biennial Symposium is The Social Fabric: Deep Local to Pan Global.

submitterspublishingwritingopportunitiesliterary magazineartistspoetrynonfictionvisual artphotography

Got high-quality writing or artwork related to publishing or digital media? Consider submitting it to our blog. Thanks!